



The ELLEN PFEIFFER AWARD

Ellen Pfeiffer, Germany.

Ellen was one of the founders of WIMA in Europe in the year 1958.

She was very active in motorcycle racing and competition. The early WIMA Meetings in Germany, therefore, were always held in locations near racing circuits such as the "Nürburgring" or the "Hockenheimring".

Accordingly, the focus of the subsequent annual Rallies was about serious competitive racing. Being fast was always Ellen's intent and what gave her most pleasure.

She competed successfully in endurance and long distance events on her Horex motorcycles, followed later by a Norton Dominator, a Honda CB450 and then BMWs

After 25 years of organizing the German WIMA Division, Ellen "retired" as an active captain, but kept her dignity like the "Queen Mum". She concentrated on being "Ellen"; that meant, riding to almost every WIMA event no matter how far the venue was (last but not least she took part in the well-known WIMA trip to launch WIMA Japan in 1996). She told about those "real" motorcycle stories, her experience during the years and about the countries she explored on her motorcycle, salvaging, now and then, some young women's big bikes from difficult alpine places and being most of the time faster than any other woman, in her very charming way.

Her speed became a legend, as did her technical expertise, which was as basic as her 25 years old BMW. But...it was always enough to be fast.

Ellen died at the age of 69 in March 2001.

She was a "First-Class-Female-Biker"... a WIMA-Lady to the last.

The Ellen Pfeiffer Award was discussed at several International President's Meetings. At the WIMA Rally 2003 in Dorset, Great Britain, it was voted to give the Award for the first time in 2004.

The Ellen Pfeiffer Award was established to honor WIMA members for their outstanding contributions to WIMA, women and motorcycling.

WIMA Members of a Division may nominate an individual or a group for the Award. The National President sends this with a short proposal letter (who it is and why an individual/a group deserves the Award), to all National Presidents six weeks before the Rally at the latest, so that they can become a candidate for the Award of the year. The award winner is elected by voting at the Presidents` Meeting during the International Rally.

The Award consists of a Certificate signed by the International President of WIMA and originally, a Medal. In 2020, the medal was replaced by a Crystal Trophy. Since the implementation in 2004, there have been 20 women who have received the honor:

- . 2004 Janet Cox
- . 2005 Margit Blum
- . 2006 Juliette Steiner
- . 2007 Sheonagh Ravensdale and Pat Thomson
- . 2008 Anne Gale
- . 2009 None
- . 2010 Mieke Westbrock
- . 2011 Monika Greiderer
- . 2012 None
- . 2013 Brigitte Döhler and Anna Zee
- . 2014 None

- . 2015 Uli Scholda
- . 2016 None
- . 2017 Margrith Sutter and Maureen Willis
- . 2018 Zara Strange and Claudia Fehrer
- . 2019 Chantal Ernandez-Hertrich
- . 2020 Sheila Whittingham
- . 2021 Rita Koopmanshap and Kaija Rytkönen
- . 2022 Floh Petit
- . 2023 Margrit Podesser

